Today I was leaving Melaka and heading to Ipoh, I had a train booked from KL to Ipoh at 4pm and so could spend a little bit more time trying the foods that make Melaka famous. Another of these foods is chicken rice ball, and one of the most well known places to try this is Famosa chicken rice ball on Jalan Hang Jebat, close to the start of Jonker street. Chicken rice ball is basically Hainese steamed chicken served with rice that has been rolled into a ball and for the life of me I can’t understand why this causes so much excitement…..

IMG_5283.JPG
Try to compose yourself, it’s chicken rice ball…..

I find Hainese chicken quite a boring dish at the best of times and rolling the rice into a ball doesn’t bring anything extra to the table either, but it is one of the the signature dishes of Melaka so it must have some fans.

To catch the bus back to Melaka Sentral bus station the easiest way is to again take the number 17 bus that goes to Ujong Pasir, you get on it at the Dutch square at the same place that you get off the bus on the way in and stay on the bus until it finishes its journey at Melaka Sentral. The fare to go back this way is 2 Rm.

Getting a bus ticket back is slightly more complicated at Melaka Sentral than at TBS bus station in Kuala Lumpur, at Melaka you have to hunt around the different company ticket counters to find a bus back to KL, whether you find the cheapest or soonest bus is a bit of a lottery. I managed to find a bus that was leaving pretty much straight away for 13.50 Rm, a bit more expensive than the bus I took to Melaka a couple of days previously, but it did have much bigger seats.

From Kuala Lumpur TBS bus station I took the metro back to KL Sentral to pick up the Train for Ipoh. The journey north to Ipoh now only takes a couple of hours with the electric train and costs just 35 Rm. The first thing you notice when you arrive in Ipoh by train is the station, known as the Taj Mahal of Ipoh by locals and was built by the same guy who built the old Kuala Lumpur train station, as well as many other colonial buildings in Malaysia.

IMG_5290
Ipoh railway station, very colonial……

I had booked to stay in a hostel close to the station, however when I arrived there I was told that they had double booked my place. With it being early evening I was a little worried but the owner took me to another hostel that did have a vacancy, which hapened to be right in the middle of the old town.

Feeling hungry I went for a bit of an explore and came across one of Ipoh’s famous dishes, Tauge Ayam. This is very similar to Hainese chicken, but with the added extra of a plate of bean sprouts. The chicken was deboned and was much nicer than that which I had in Melaka earlier in the day.

IMG_5296.JPG
Tauge Ayam, one of Ipoh’s signature dishes.
